Advanced Materials Laureate

Advanced Materials Laureate is one of the highest honours that the International Association of Advanced Materials confers upon members of the materials science community. The association uses this prestigious title to honour the pioneer researchers in the sphere of advanced materials for their notable and outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials to global excellence. Over the years, Advanced Materials Laureate has come about to be widely regarded as one of the highest honours for any researcher working in a diverse background.


The award is conferred upon a researcher working in an interdisciplinary background including but not limited to Physical, Chemical, Engineering, Mathematical, or Medical Sciences and having made some significant contribution towards research perspective, expansion of education, promotion of materials research and its application on a global level. Any researcher from across the globe who meets all these requirements is eligible for this award. A time period of twenty years before the year of the award is considered and the work done during this period is looked at while deciding the awardee for a particular year.

The selection for all the major IAAM awards is done by a duly constituted awards committee. All the awards are given to the awardees at an assembly of the Advanced Materials Congress. It is mandatory for the awardee of this highly prestigious award to deliver an award lecture at the Advanced Materials Congress.

Prof. Cengiz S. Ozkan, University of California, Riverside, USA

Announcement of Advanced Materials Laureate 2020

Prof. Cengiz S. Ozkan

University of California, Riverside, USA

International Association of Advanced Materials feels very honored and privileged to confer the ‘Advanced Materials Laureate 2020’ to Prof. Cengiz S. Ozkan from University of California, Riverside, USA for his several years of diligence and uncountable efforts for the promotion of advanced materials science & technology. We heartily congratulate Prof. Ozkan for being recognized with this highly prestigious award.

Read More

Advanced Materials Laureate 2019

Prof. Herbert Gleiter

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

In 2019, the title of ‘Advanced Materials Laureate’ was awarded to renowned scientist, Professor Herbert Gleiter, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany. Prof. Gleiter is a revolutionary researcher of the world of nanoscience and his work is primarily focused on the application of nanotechnology, studying nanoglasses, which is a new class of non-crystalline nanomaterials. He also focuses on the transition between classical physics and quantum physics.

Read More
Prof. Herbert Gleiter, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Dr. Frank Engelke, Bruker Biospin GmbH, Germany

Advanced Materials Laureate 2019

Dr. Frank Engelke

Bruker Biospin GmbH, Germany

In the 27th assembly of Advanced Materials Congress organized by International Association of Advanced Materials in Stockholm, Sweden from 11 to 14 August 2019, the association honoured as many as 30 researchers from all over the wold with the most prestigious awards and accolades.

Read More

Advanced Materials Laureate 2018

Prof. Enge Wang

Chinese Academy of Science, China

Professor Enge Wang is the University Chair, Professor of Physics and President Emeritus of Peking University, China. He received his Ph.D. from Peking University in 1990. After working in France and US as a post-doctoral fellow and a research scientist, he started his academic career in 1995 as a professor at Institute of Physics Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). He was the Director of the Institute of Physics (CAS) (1999-2007), the Founding Director ...

Read More
Prof. Enge Wang, Chinese Academy of Science, China
Prof. Luis M. Liz-Marzan, Cic biomaGUNE, BRTA, Spain

Advanced Materials Laureate 2017

Prof. Luis M. Liz-Marzan

Cic biomaGUNE, BRTA, Spain

Luis M. Liz-Marzán is currently Ikerbasque Research Professor and Scientific Director of the Basque Centre for Cooperative Research in Biomaterials (CIC biomaGUNE), in San Sebastian. Since 2015 he is also the PI of the CIC biomaGUNE node of the Biomedical Research Networking Center: Bioengineering, Biomaterials and Nanomedicine (Ciber-BBN).

Read More

Advanced Materials Laureate 2016

Prof. Zhong Lin Wang

Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Dr. Zhong Lin Wang is the Hightower Chair in Materials Science and Engineering and Regents’ Professor at Georgio Tech. He is widely considered a pioneer in nanotechnology and nanoscience. He is also known for having coined and pioneered the field of piezotronics and phototronics. Moreover, he has made several breakthroughs in the development of nanogenerators that have established the future roadmap for various processes involving the powering of mobile sensors.

Read More
Prof. Zhong Lin Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Prof. Kazunori Kataoka, University of Tokyo, Japan

Advanced Materials Laureate 2015

Prof. Kazunori Kataoka

University of Tokyo, Japan

Dr. Kataoka acquired his doctorate in polymer chemistry from the University of Tokyo in 1979. Post his doctorate, Dr. Katoaka worked as a faculty at the Tokyo Women’s Medical College for ten years. He joined the Tokyo University of Science in 1989 and served there until 1998. After that, he moved to the University of Tokyo’s Graduate School of Engineering as a Full Professor of Biomaterials.

Read More

Advanced Materials Laureate 2013

Prof. Anthony P.F. Turner

Cranfield University, UK

Doctor Anthony Turner is a pioneer and known name in the field of Biosensors. He is an Emeritus Professor of Cranfield University, England, and also worked at the university as the Distinguished Professor of Biotechnology until the year 2010. Dr. Turner has received a plethora of awards and recognitions. In the year 1996, he was selected as the Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry. 

Read More
Prof. Anthony P.F. Turner, Cranfield University, UK