Researcher of the Year

The title of ‘Researcher of the Year’ is the highest award that the International Association of Advanced Materials honours scientists and researchers with. Every year, the association announces the ‘Researcher of the Year’ with a lot of pride to recognize the hard work and path-breaking efforts of a scientist towards the advancement of materials to global excellence. In the last decade, the title of ‘Researcher of the Year’ conferred by IAAM become one of the highest regarded honours that any researcher or scientist working in an interdisciplinary scientific field can have the pleasure to receive.

Promotion of Materials Science Research | IAAM


Since the title of ‘Researcher of the Year’ is the top-most award conferred upon researchers by IAAM, the association is quite selective regarding it. This highly prestigious honour is conferred upon a researcher or scientist who has been a leader in an important interdisciplinary field of science. All over the globe, any scientist or researcher who has made some really outstanding contributions to the world of science with their research and results along with making efforts towards the dissemination of scientific education, promotion of materials science research and its application is considered eligible for this honour. The achievements and contributions during a set time period is considered for the selection. 

Prof. Herbert Gleiter, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Researcher of the Year 2020

Prof. Herbert Gleiter

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Prof. Herbert Gleiter obtained his PhD from Max Planck Institute of Materials Science and the University of Stuttgart in 1966. He worked for several years at Harvard University and MIT as a Research Fellow.

Read More

Researcher of the Year 2019

Prof. Enge Wang

Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Professor Wang is the President of the renowned institute, Chinese Academy of Sciences and President Emeritus of Peking University, China. Over the years, he has been one of the leading contributors to the areas of Surface Physics and nanotechnology research.

Read More
Prof. Enge Wang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China | IAAM
Prof. T. Venkatesan, National University of Singapore, Singapore | IAAM

Researcher of the Year 2018

Prof. T. Venkatesan

National University of Singapore, Singapore

Prof. T. Venkatesan has been a Physicist and manager for almost two decades with Bell Labs and Bellcore. In the last two decades, he has worked with the Center for Superconductivity Research. Prof. Venkatesan is widely regarded for his pioneering research and contributions to the fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology. In the year 1985, he founded the Surface Center at Rutgers University and served as a professor there for 5 years.

Read More

Researcher of the Year 2017

Prof. Zhong Lin Wang

Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Prof. Zhong Lin Wang completed his doctorate degree from Arizona State University in the year 1987. Currently, he serves as the Hightower Chair in Materials Science and Engineering and Regents’ Professor at Georgia Tech. He also serves as the Director of Beijing Institute of Nanoenergy and Nanosystems, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Read More
Prof. Zhong Lin Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA | IAAM